Bad practice

So, you can see from the frequency of my posts that I am no good at the consistent practice of writing.  Above all, that may be my greatest flaw in writing – discipline.  This is not to say that I do not write almost every day – I feel like I am feeling out the different modes of putting down words, trying to figure out what medium works best for me – I write faster when I type, but I have a tendency to mid-writing-edit, which stunts me.  I can’t get myself to write a shitty first draft because I just keep deleting the first couple of lines – no flow.  But when I write with pen and paper, it gets lost in my journal and doesn’t feel legitimate, more just like emotional self-pandering.  I have been writing in my journal a lot more though – really trying to write something down every time I think of it, without pausing to figure out whether it’s a worthwhile observation or story and not self-editing throughout.

Leave a comment